Zebby Awards/Design Awards

villa de cortez exterior

Zebby Awards:

The Zebby Awards are dedicated to Zeb William Rike, a University of Texas B.Arch. 1936 graduate and founding member of the LRGV-AIA, for his devotion and service to South Texas and the LRGV-AIA architecture community.  Mr. Rike worked in our community for more than 40 years, while completing over 600 architectural projects both at home and abroad.  The award will be given to a team and/or individual that has shown a leadership role in our local profession that has exemplified service to our profession.

As an addendum to the nomination form, please attach a one-page summary of the nominee’s history and achievements, addressing each category listed below.  This summary is useful in preparing reference materials for the Honors Committee.  Thank you.

  • Brief Biography of Nominee
  • Nominee’s Accomplishments/Achievements/Qualifications
  • Recognition/Awards Received From Other Organizations
  • Exhibits of work – photos, drawings – no more than 3 exhibit sheets, digital files     preferred – jpg, tiff, png.
Submission Deadline:

November 23, 2018

Award Descriptions

Person(s) of esteemed character who have given distinguished service to the profession of Architecture and AIA-LRGV.

(Any member of AIA-LRGV may nominate)

2018 Zebby Nomination Form

Design Awards:

The AIA-LRGV Chapter Design Awards Program honors and celebrates its members’ commitment to design excellence in architecture. The ongoing awards program demonstrates to clients and the public the availability of local award-winning firms and individuals dedicated to providing outstanding architectural services.

Submission Deadline:

TBA 2019

We are proud to announce our 2017 Design Award recipients:

HONOR AWARD – Laredo Water Museum  – Metaform Studio + JHS Architects
HONOR AWARD – South Texas Medical Academic Bldg  – Munoz & Co.
MERIT AWARD – Casitas Los Olmos  – bc WORKSHOP
SPARK AWARD UNBUILT – Quinta Mazatlan Master Plan  – Orange Made Architecture